My love for Maurice Sendak

I will say it loud, and I will say it proud.

I LOVE MAURICE SENDAK (I’d make that bigger but I don’t know how)

I first loved him because of his amazing stories and illustration.  I loved him because of Max and the Wild Things, and I loved him In The Night Kitchen.  Then I started to learn about the man behind the stories and I loved him even more.  There was a great interview with him on HBO a few years ago and I realized that he really was a crotchety old man (my very favorite type of person).  I suspect he would get along well with Statler and Waldorf, and my Grandma Vi.

This morning I came across an interview with Sendak in the Guardian, and it made me happier then I ever thought possible.  

Here are some highlights:

On eBooks: “I hate them. It’s like making believe there’s another kind of sex. There isn’t another kind of sex. There isn’t another kind of book! A book is a book is a book.”

“I’m totally crazy, I know that. I don’t say that to be a smartass, but I know that that’s the very essence of what makes my work good. And I know my work is good. Not everybody likes it, that’s fine. I don’t do it for everybody. Or anybody. I do it because I can’t not do it.”

On Salman Rushdie: “That flaccid fuckhead. He was detestable. I called up the Ayatollah, nobody knows that.”

Needless to say, I will be calling a lot of people flaccid fuckheads for the next few weeks.  And for that, I thank you Mr. Sendak.  I thank you. 

8 thoughts on “My love for Maurice Sendak

  1. “I do it because I can’t not do it.” I love that! Just found you on the BYW forum. I really like your work, I’m going to look at more of it now.

  2. OK – Just checked out your Etsy site. World of Books and Deck of Cards are my favorites. So cool to see this kind of truly fresh, high quality art!

  3. I read Where the Wild Things Are to my students at school, and had bought little finger puppets of Max and the Wild Things. So much fun! Thank you for sharing. I’ve always loved Sendak’s work, but never knew about him. I agree that “I do it because I can’t not do it.” Exactly.

    See you at byw!

Leave a Reply

